Saint-Nicolas, Lévis, Québec, Canada - Saint-Nicolas
Saint-Nicolas, Qué, City, pop 16 645 (2001c), 15 594 (1996c), 14 431 (1991cA), area 95.09 km2, inc 1994 with the amalgamation of the municipalities of Bernières and Saint-Nicolas. The city is located 17 km southwest of QUÉBEC CITY on the South Shore of the St Lawrence River and to the west of Rivière CHAUDIÈRE. It is a thriving residential suburb of Québec City, linked to the city of SAINTE-FOY, on the opposite shore of the St Lawrence, by the Pierre-Laporte suspension bridge and the old, cantilever Québec Bridge.
The old parish of Saint-Nicolas, settled in the last quarter of the 17th century and founded in 1694, takes its name from an old Normandy parish, Saint-Nicolas-de-la-Ferté. Saint-Nicolas, which had a population of 700 at the end of the 18th century, was set up as a parish municipality in 1855. It became a town in 1962.
The southern portion of the city is more industrial whereas the northern part edging the St Lawrence and the old highway 132 (Route Marie-Victorin) is more agricultural and richer in historic sites and architectural heritage. Tricentennial heritage farmhouses dot the landscape. A local cider is produced at the Cidrerie et vergers Saint-Nicolas, and there is much market gardening produce. Between the cities of Saint-Nicolas and CHARNY is Parc de la Chute-de-la-Chaudière. Here a 113 m long pedestrian suspension bridge hangs below Chaudière Falls, offering views of the cataracts and the twisted rock formations in all their magnificent splendour.
Visit Saint-Nicolas, Lévis, Québec, Canada
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.