L'Islet, Qué, Municipality, pop 3866 (2001c), 3878 A (1996c), area 120.02 km2, on the South Shore of the ST LAWRENCE RIVER, 100 km east of Québec City, within the former seigneuries of L'Islet-St-Jean and Bonsecours (granted 1677). Before the arrival of the first resident parish priest in 1745, L'Islet was served by missionary priests, and the parish of Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours-de-L'Islet was founded in 1721. Until the end of the 19th century, agriculture was the principal economic activity.
The arrival of the railway in 1860 brought some industrial development: several brickworks exploited but soon exhausted the local clay deposits; a foundry that was in operation for several years has more recently become a trailer factory; a large cabinetmaking enterprise also established several shops in the village. These industries have had an influence on urbanization: in 1911 the village of L'Islet-sur-Mer separated from the parish municipality (est 1845), and in 1950 L'Islet-Station broke away, eventually becoming a town (L'Islet). In 2000 L'Islet-sur-Mer and L'Islet, along with the parish of Saint-Eugène, rejoined to form one municipality. The church, built in 1768, is a designated historic building and contains several religious masterpieces. A major maritime museum opened in 1970.
Visit L'Islet, Québec, Canada (L'Islet-sur-Mer) (Notre-Dame-de-Bon-Secours)
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.