Château-Richer, Québec, Canada (La Visitation-de-Notre-Dame de Chateau-Richer) - 1832 - The Parish of Chateau Richer, Cote de Beaupre,
by regulation confirmed by a royal decree of March 3, 1722, in which it is called la Paroisse de la Visitation de Notre Dame, extends W. from the R. du Petit-Pre, which separates it from the parish of Ange Gardien, to the R. au Chien E. which divides it from the P. of Ste. Anne. It runs 2 1/ 4 l. along the shore of the St. Lawrence and comprehends the whole depth of that part of the S. In this P. are the ruins of a Franciscan monastery, built at the beginning of the last century, on a little rocky promontory on the bank of the St. Lawrence; its destruction took place at the time the British army, under General Wolfe, was encamped on the E. side of the river Montmorenci: the exterior walls and part of an adjoining tower still remain. On a rising ground, in the rear of these ruins, stands the parish church, rather a handsome structure with two spires: from this spot a wide-spreading and beautiful prospect unfolds itself, comprehending a large portion of the river, Cap Tourmente, the Island of Orleans, Cape Diamond and the intermediate scenery of well-cultivated tracts bounded by distant mountains to the N. and S. About 1/ 4 league from the church is a charming cascade on the river Sault a la Puce. - All the farms in this parish were conceded before 1759, each 3 arpents in front by 1 1/ 2 league in depth, paying a quit-rent of 20 sols for each front arpent.
A Topographical Dictionary of The Province of Lower Canada by Joseph Bouchette, Esq., London, 1832
Visit Château-Richer, Québec, Canada (La Visitation-de-Notre-Dame de Chateau-Richer)
Discover the people who lived there, the places they visited and the stories they shared.
The comments you read here belong only to the person who posted them. We reserve the right to remove off-topic and inappropriate comments.