GreenerPasture Genealogy

Sign In

BEST FREE ancestry website since 1999 - History belongs to all of us!

Add MY Family To This Page

flag  History of Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada

Journey back in time to Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada

Visit Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada. Discover its history. Learn about the people who lived there through stories, old newspaper articles, pictures, postcards and ancestry.

Do You Have Sainte-Croix Roots? Share MY Ancestral Story!

Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada - Église de la Sainte-Croix 6319, rue Principale, Sainte-Croix, QUÉBEC Established 1721 Source: Google maps

Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec

Sainte-Croix is a historic municipality in the regional county municipality of Lotbinière, located in the administrative region of Chaudière-Appalaches. The total area of the municipality is about 73 square kilometers.

Today, agriculture remains an important activity, but it is overtaken by the processing industry as a percentage of the workforce it employs. The furniture industry and that of wood and wooden articles, in particular doors and windows, are the most important.

grandquebec.com

There is MUCH more to discover about Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada. Read on!

Sainte-Croix Nostalgia: Vintage Photos, Ads, and Postcards

Église de la Sainte-Croix
6319, rue Principale, Sainte-Croix, QUÉBEC
Established 1721
Source: Goo
Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada

Photograph
Pinterest    
Église de la Sainte-Croix
6319, rue Principale, Sainte-Croix, QUÉBEC
Established 1721
Source: Google maps
Rue de Eglise
Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada

Postcard
Pinterest    
Rue de Eglise

Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada

Postcard
Pinterest    
Cimetiere
Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada

Postcard
Pinterest    
Cimetiere

Discover Sainte-Croix: History, News, Travel, and Stories

Add informationAdd History/News/Story
A concession of the territory on the banks of the river was awarded to the Ursuline Ladies by the Company of the Hundred Associates on January 16, 1637. This seigniory was first designated under the name of Platon, a corruption of the word Plateau.
However, the Jesuit father Jérôme Lalemant, gave it the name of Sainte-Croix on September 14, 1647, on the feast of the exaltation of the Holy Cross.
grandquebec.com
Built in 1694, the first church was located near the St. Lawrence River.

grandquebec.com
1714 - Parish of Ste-Croix is opened

Le Programme de recherche en démographie historique - Univeriste de Montreal
1721 - Église de la Sainte-Croix established at Sainte-Croix

www.gcatholic.org
The second church was built in 1732.

grandquebec.com
The first inhabitants, mostly merchants and fishermen, settled near the Petit-Sault waterfall in 1749 where the Ursulines of Quebec built the first flour mill in 1754.

grandquebec.com
1832 - STE. CROIX,
seigniory, in the co. of Lotbiniere, is bounded N.E. by Bonsecours, Desplaines and St. Giles; S.W. by the S. of Lotbiniere and its aug. and the T. of Nelson; in the rear by the T. of Leeds; in front by the St. Lawrence. - The original title of this concession has not been found; but it appears, from the registers of fealty and homage, that a declaration, exhibited by a notary, proved that the Dames Religieuses Ursulines possessed the seigniory of Ste. Croix, containing one league in front by ten in depth, which was granted to them 16th Jan. 1637, and confirmed by M. Lauzon, the governor, 6th Mar. 1652: it still remains the property of the convent. - On the high and steep bank of the St. Lawrence the soil is a light-coloured loam, greatly improved by a very superior style of cultivation. Receding thence, the land decreases in height and the soil changes to a rich dark mould, which continues for some miles and then declines into extensive swamps, covered with cedar, hemlock, black ash... Read MORE...

The third church was built in 1836.

grandquebec.com
1873
ST. CROIX, a thriving post village in Lotbiniere co., Que., on the S. bank of the St. Lawrence, 33 miles above Quebec. It contains a church, an academy, 6 saw mills, 2 grist mills, 1 carding mill, and 4 or 5 stores. Pop. 750; of parish 2,260.
Lovell's gazetteer of British North America; J. Lovell; Montreal, 1873
In 1880, "Le Sainte-Croix", piloted by its owner, Captain Lafleur went twice a week to Quebec and it cost 50 cents for the round trip. The maritime transport service ceased in 1926 with the paving of the national road.

grandquebec.com
1890 - St Croix
St Croix, vil., Quebec. co. Lotbiniere, on S. bank of R. St Lawrence, 33 m. above Quebec. P. of sub-dist. 2,377.
The Pocket Atlas and Gazetteer of the Dominion of Canada John George Bartholomew John Murdoch Harper January 1, 1890 London : J. Walker
1895 - Saint Croix
Saint Croix, a post-village in Lotbinière co., Quebec, on the S. bank of the St. Lawrence, 33 miles above Quebec. It contains a church, an academy, 6 saw-mills, 2 grist-mills, a carding-mill, and 4 or 5 stores. Pop. 750.
Lippincott's Gazetteer of the World: A Complete Pronouncing Gazetteer Or Geographical Dictionary of the World Containing Notices of Over One Hundred and Twenty-five Thousand Places ... Joseph Thomas January 1, 1895 J.B. Lippincott
1906
Sainte Croix, a post-village of Lotbiniere co., Quebec, on the S. bank of the St. Lawrence, 33 miles above Quebec. Pop. about 500.
Lippincott's New Gazetteer: A Complete Pronouncing Gazetteer Or Geographical Dictionary of the World, Containing the Most Recent and Authentic Information Respecting the Countries, Cities, Towns ... in Every Portion of the Globe Publisher J.B. Lippincott Company, 1906
The construction of the fourth church and the current presbytery began in 1911, and the church was delivered to worship in 1914, on the main street.

grandquebec.com
1911 - Boats Collide, Four Lives Lost
Steamers Crashed Into Each Other on St. Lawrence Between St. Antoine and St. Croix.

Quebec, August 21. - Four people met death shortly after one o'clock yesterday morning on the St. Lawrence River, when a collision took place between the steamer Hero and the tug Chieftain. The Hero was bound down, and the Chieftain, which had brought down a raft to Quebec, was on its way up. As the result of the collision the Chieftain was sunk.

When the crash came most of the people on board the Chieftain were rescued, but Mrs. Haggarty, the cook, and her daughter, a man named Menard, who had been captain of the raft, and a Swede named Alwar Thomas of the crew, were lost. Mrs. Haggarty and her daughter are supposed to have been killed in their berths, but the others were drowned. The accident took place between St. Antoin and St. Croix, Lotbiniere county.
The Ottawa Journal
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
August 21, 1911
1918 - Foundry is built in Sainte-Croix

www.chaudiereappalaches.com
1918 - Anti-Draft Agitation Continues Near Quebec - Third Bomb Explosion Was Attempt to Blow Up Home of St. Croix Mayor
QUEBEC, June 21. - Trouble growing out of sentiment against the military service act is reported in several Quebec counties. The third bomb explosion in three months occurred today in Lotbiniere county, at Sainte Croix.

A few nights ago a bomb was exploded near the residence of the mayor of the place. Young men in other parishes are reported to be participating in defiance of registration. Disturbances are also reported in Nicolet county.
Reading Times
Reading, Pennsylvania
June 22, 1918
1971 - Circuit Riverside Speedway is built in Sainte-Croix

wikipedia.org
2023 - Here's a list of places to go and things to do in and around Sainte-Croix:
Visite Libre de l'Église Sainte-Croix: Start your journey in Sainte-Croix with a visit to the stunning Église Sainte-Croix. This historic church is an architectural masterpiece and offers a glimpse into the town's rich religious heritage.

Parc Sainte-Croix: Located in the heart of the town, Parc Sainte-Croix is a lovely green space where you can enjoy a leisurely stroll, have a picnic, or simply relax and take in the beautiful surroundings.

Randonnée Pédestre: Sainte-Croix is surrounded by beautiful natural landscapes, making it an ideal destination for hiking enthusiasts. There are several trails in the area, such as the Sentiers des Passereaux, that offer breathtaking views of the river and the surrounding countryside.

Parc des Chutes de Sainte-Agathe: Just a short drive from Sainte-Croix, you'll find Parc des Chutes de Sainte-Agathe, a picturesque park with waterfalls, walking trails, and picnic areas. It's a great spot for nature lovers and photographers.

Cycling: The ... Read MORE...

Discover MY Roots: Sainte-Croix Ancestry

Ancestors Who Were Born or Died in Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada

We currently have information about 400 ancestors who were born or died in Sainte-Croix.

View Them Now (sorted by year of birth)



Ancestors Who Were Married in Sainte-Croix, Lotbinière, Québec, Canada

We currently have information about ancestors who were married in Sainte-Croix.

View Them Now

male ancestorLouis HOUDE (23 December 1675 - 20 April 1729) and female ancestorAnne-Ursule BISSON (7 November 1681 - ) married 19 May 1697
male ancestorJean-Baptiste BISSON (18 July 1675 - 1 July 1712) and female ancestorMarie-Jeanne-Françoise BEAUDET (1 October 1681 - 17 January 1712) married abt. 1699
male ancestorCharles-Joseph HAMEL (10 August 1679 - 23 September 1755) and female ancestorMarie-Angélique GAUTHIER (15 February 1682 - 16 January 1732) married 27 June 1701
male ancestorBernard-Pierre MARCOTTE (9 June 1680 - 30 June 1767) and female ancestorMarie-Louise HOUDE (1694 - 18 April 1732) married 24 July 1713
male ancestorPierre-François LAMBERT (16 October 1689 - 4 May 1757) and female ancestorMarie-Louise HOUDE dite BELLEFEUILLE (1698 - 24 December 1757) married 2 September 1714
male ancestorJean-Baptiste GAUTHIER (1686 - 23 April 1756 ) and female ancestorCatherine LEMAY (1690 - 3 April 1767) married 18 November 1714
male ancestorJoseph-François BISSON (3 August 1692 - ) and female ancestorMarguerite HOUDE (8 April 1694 - ) married 28 April 1715
male ancestorJacques HOUDE (1690 - ) and female ancestorJeanne DEMERS (1696 - 30 November 1749) married 15 January 1715
male ancestorLouis HAMEL (3 October 1692 - 5 May 1767) and female ancestorMarie-Françoise HOUDE dite BELLEFEUILLE (1 October 1700 - 9 March 1774) married 10 August 1716

Our Sainte-Croix Gift Ideas

Not the place you are looking for? Try again!

Search for MY Family by Place

To search for a place, specify place name below. Choose name from the list. Then SEARCH.
*Place Name:


Expedia

HOTELS.COM - Save 10% - 30% on your next escape!

Ancestry Family Tree Search

Search for MY Family by Name

NOTE: If you don't know your ancestor's whole name or are unsure of the spelling, specify part of the name.

First Name:
*Last Name:
Gender:
Born (+/- 2 years):
Died (+/- 2 years):
Match all terms exactly:

Updated: 9/19/2023 10:08:27 PM